Ignite Education

Teacher of the Year

Award Celebration

ignite education teacher of the year logo

Amazing teachers transform lives—and each year, in partnership with Sarasota County Schools, the Education Foundation of Sarasota County celebrates these educators through the Ignite Education Teacher of the Year Award Celebration. Each district school nominates its honoree, and of those teachers, an elementary, a middle school, and a high school Teacher of the Year are selected. From these three exceptional educators, one is chosen for Sarasota County Teacher of the Year.

At the Ignite Education Teacher of the Year Awards Celebration, we announce the Sarasota County Teacher of the Year and highlight the many ways teachers inspire students and prepare them to succeed and lead meaningful lives. While there is only one Sarasota County Teacher of the Year recipient, the award process and the ceremony represent how deeply we appreciate all the hard work, compassion, and commitment of the thousands of teachers in Sarasota County Schools.


See the 2024 celebration!

Congratulations to the 2024 Teacher of the Year Finalists

Emma E. Booker Elementary School teacher Ronnique Major, elementary school Teacher of the Year

Ronnique Major
Elementary School Teacher of the Year 
Emma E. Booker Elementary School

Pine View School teacher Haley Brown, middle school Teacher of the Year Award recipient

Haley Brown
Middle School Teacher of the Year
Pine View School

North Port High School teacher Dennis Pinna, high school Teacher of the Year Award recipient

Dennis Pinna
High School Teacher of the Year 
North Port High School

Congratulations to All Sarasota County Teacher of the Year Award Recipients

Alta Vista Elementary: Cari Gibbons; Ashton Elementary: Tiffany Lloyd; Atwater Elementary School: Deborah Idoyaga; Bay Haven School of Basics Plus: Jelena Stojicevic; Booker Middle School: Regina Curry; Booker High School: Tymesha Williams; Brentwood Elementary School: Janette Harrison; Brookside Middle School: Daphne Elliott; Cranberry Elementary School: Taissa Bushnell; Dreamers Academy: Josette Ortega; Englewood Elementary School: Callen Rhoads; Fruitville Elementary: Heidi McWeeney; Garden Elementary: Tracy Tuerk; Glenallen Elementary School: Monika Chamberlain; Gocio Elementary School: Rob Kanotz; Gulf Gate Elementary School: Keira Bartley; Heron Creek Middle School: Brittany Lewis; Lakeview Elementary School: Stephanie Redington; Lamarque Elementary School: Jeanine Van Deusen; Laurel Nokomis School: Abby Hawkins; McIntosh Middle School: Cyndi Pelosi; Oak Park School: Julie Gauntt; Phillippi Shores Elementary School: Angie Ramsden; Riverview High School: Nina James; Sarasota Academy of the Arts: Shannon Davis; Sarasota Middle School: Karla Sams; Sarasota Military Academy Middle: Mark Fulghum; Sarasota Military Academy High: Ashley Wyka; Sarasota High School: Jen Carroll; Sky Academy: Alyson King; Southside Elementary School: Jayde Morgan; Suncoast Polytechnical High School: Stacey Fulgieri; Suncoast Technical College: Edward Fagan; Tatum Ridge Elementary School: Angela Tucker; Taylor Ranch Elementary School: Jessica Zachariah; Toledo Blade Elementary School: Tasha Umstead; TRIAD Alternative School: Therese Guinther; Tuttle Elementary School: Lauren Provost; Venice Elementary School: Whitney Bartlett; Venice Middle School: Lindsey Quigley; Venice High School: Carrie McDonald; Wilkinson Elementary School: Amanda DeGroot; and Woodland Middle School: Kira Longberry.

This year’s sponsors:

Presenting Sponsor

Gold Sponsors

Publix Super Markets Charities
Suncoast Credit Union

Silver Sponsors

B&I Contractors Logo
Charles and Margery Barancik Foundation Logo
Gilbane Building Company logo
Gulf Coast Community Foundation Ed and Barbara Strobel Fund logo

Bronze Sponsors

Comcast NBC Universal logo with peacock icon
ME&S General Contractors logo
Florida Blue
ME&S General Contractors logo
Freeman Orthodontics
Wharton-Smith, Inc. Construction Group with WS logo

In-Kind Sponsor

All Around Charters & Tours
Notre Dame Club of Greater Sarasota with ND SRQ Shamrock logo

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team.

You have Successfully Subscribed!